Day at a Time, Inpsiration, Love Yourself Link Up, What to Wear

Love Yourself Link Up: Less is More

Less is More | Love Yourself Link-Up | Chic to Chic Blog | www.chictochicblog.wordpress.com

Today I am writing as part of the Love Yourself Linkup – an ongoing blog series that focuses on topics like self image and body image. A community of women post their thoughts on these topics and tell stories of personal experiences. We’ll share what inspired us, challenged us and more! Learn more about the Love Yourself Linkup at Anne the Adventurer. If you have a story to share too, join the conversation by writing and clicking to enter below!

This weekend I read an article in the Spring Issue of Darling Magazine. It was my break time between packing and organizing for our move. This specific article spoke to this girl that was organizing and going through things this very day. I was inspired.

American culture says that you can never have too much and it’s okay to have excess amounts – clothes, dishes, notebooks, books & whatever else you want. But excess also creates a constant longing for more & the feeling that you’ll never have enough or be enough unless you have just one more.

Today I’d like to encourage you to maybe start with packing away or if you feel brave enough, giving away anything in your home – dresses, tops, bags, shoes, books, anything you find yourself to have in excess, especially anything you don’t use on a regular business. It’s truly a freeing experience. This allows you more space in your home, the ability to use everything you have and ultimately to give what you do not use, a home to someone who may not even know the concept of excess.

Because everything for me usually comes back to fashion, as many ladies can relate to, I have been very encouraged in living with less when it comes to that very thing. I’ve always heard about the European fashion concept of buying a few, very nice pieces, tailoring them to fit perfectly and then wearing them over and over every week. This concept is literally very foreign to Americans, but I think it’s something I’ve, slowly been trying to echo in my wardrobe. Having your favorite dresses, tops & skirts all visible, allows a more creative approach to dressing. Mixing prints & textures has become one of my favorite things to do with fashion. It also gives you an appreciation for what you have. Now this girl that used to shop every weekend and could always find a reason for a new dress or top, isn’t even interested in shopping unless she actually has a specific thing she needs. What a thought!

Another way to think about living with less in the wardrobe department is with travel. When I go on vacation, my first goal is to fit everything in a carry-on suitcase. It makes traveling go so much more seamlessly. Then I move onto the next goal, choosing my favorite wardrobe pieces to wear on the trip! For me, dresses are my favorite thing to wear, especially on trips. My favorite are dresses with sleeves that can be dressed up or down and that I always feel confident in. I love a good dress with sleeves because it’s an entire outfit. I can bring accessories, but I don’t have to bring quite as much! So, as I’ve traveled this summer and in previously months, I’ve learned I could really stick with the amount that fits into a carry-on in everyday life. Knowing the clothing choices are great for different events and they’re my top five pieces from my wardrobe, I feel like I can take on the world with any of them. Instead of feeling overwhelmed by choices, I know what I have and I love my choices.

In the end, living with less will not only bless someone else from what you’re ridding yourself of, but you’ll benefit from it on a daily basis. Living with less gives you a feeling of contentment, feeling like you are enough because you have enough. Less is truly more when you’re more confident, happy and satisfied with what you have.

In the Darling article, the picture has a girl holding up a blanket that says “FUN WITH NEARLY NOTHING”. Never thought you’d hear “fun” and “nothing” in the same sentence, right? But make this a challenge with yourself. Live with less because less will do more for you than you could ever have imagined. And remember that things don’t define you. You are an incredible woman. You don’t need things to make you happy or confident. Less is more. Now go and live with less! It really is fun!

Happy Tuesday, Friends!

love-yourself-link-up

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Standard

One thought on “Love Yourself Link Up: Less is More

  1. Pingback: Twenty Three, Ya’ll! | Chic to Chic

Thoughts?

