Day at a Time, Inpsiration, Love Yourself Link Up, My Designs

Love Yourself Link Up: Purpose

Purpose Quote | A. Design | Chic to Chic Blog | www.chictochicblog.wordpress.com

Today I am writing as part of the Love Yourself Linkup – an ongoing blog series that focuses on topics like self image and body image. A community of women post their thoughts on these topics and tell stories of personal experiences. We’ll share what inspired us, challenged us and more! Learn more about the Love Yourself Linkup at Anne the Adventurer. If you have a story to share too, join the conversation by writing and clicking to enter below!

What is my purpose in life? What keeps me going every day? What gets me excited? Who do I want to reach in this life? What do I want to be known for after this life passes away? These questions are good to reflect on every now and again. So, today I’m going to reflect in the hope of encouraging you to do the same.

What is my purpose in life? I may not know for sure yet, but I know I was suppose to be here. My beginning is a crazy one. There are some things that are too personal to share, but one of those obstacles before I was born was surviving. My Mama found out at four months pregnant she was having twins. Twins! She was a twin, now SHE was having twins too! But then God saw a different plan and at five months pregnant there was no second heart beat to be found. I was the only one left. Then two months later, at seven months pregnant, my Mama went into early labor and I was delivered at 28 weeks along with the baby that didn’t make it. At 2 pounds 12 ounces, I made it. When I think about that and how many obstacles that were put in front of me before I was barely in existence, I know there must be a purpose for my being. God always has a purpose and knowing He made a way for me to end up in this world let’s me know there is a reason, a purpose I’m here. Think about it! What obstacles did you have to overcome just to end up in this world or what obstacles have you had to overcome to stay? If you’re here, you have a purpose. You may not know yet, but maybe focusing on the next few questions will help bring that purpose into perspective.

What keeps me going every day? Everyday I wake up, shower, get dressed and start my day. I usually spend the day working from home on freelance during the summer or going to class during the fall and spring. Each day is filled with small goals that will eventually get me to my focused, larger goals. I work and do freelance so I can learn, gain experience in a field I love. I also work to save money for my dream of doing two summers of Europe trips before we have babies. I go to classes each semester in hopes that in 2015 I will be the first college graduate in my Mom’s family. I want that certificate to show my future children that they can do it too. It’s not easy, but it’s a huge accomplishment. I also wake up everyday and try to be the best wife I can be. I’m not the best at it, even after three years of marriage, but I keep going and trying. Finally, I’m spending all of this time working on my small goals and trying to master the art of being a wife, so that in a few years, I’ll be able to make my lifelong dream of becoming a Mom, a reality.

What gets me excited? You know, that giddy excitement?! I’d say the time I get the most giddy is bringing my friends into Anthropologie. It’s really goofy, but being surrounded by pretty things, creative projects, books that I could just sit with and read all day and everything in the world I could imagine that can help make being a girl, wife, mother and creative complete. All of the tools are right there, at your fingertips. Being in this store gives me the inspiration for my designs, cooking, being a better friend, a more ladylike lady and so many other things. It truly reflects who I’d like to be. Isn’t that funny? A whole store does that much for me. It’s just one of those places, like a museum that gives you that feeling of unlimited enjoyment and endless inspiration. What gets you excited to conquer and pursue every aspect of your life?

Who do I want to reach in this life? In this life of mine, I hope to reach out to little girls who need to smile a little more, woman who need a boost of confidence and young couples who need encouragement in their marriage. All of these things embody who I am. I’m a little girl at heart that likes to play dress up and sing like no one is listening. I’m a woman who always needs that boost of confidence, whether through a compliment or a gift from a friend making me feel remembered and important. Being encouraged by other young couples showing me that what we go through is the same thing they do. Whether it’s the towels on the floor or the need to have everything perfect before having another couple over, our couple friends go through the same thing! I’d like to relay my stories, so other’s know they’re not alone. Who do you want to reach that encourages you too?

What do I want to be known for after this life passes away? This always feels like such a morbid topic to think about, but it really is something I like to keep on my mind daily. When I meet new people or hang out with old friends, how do I want to be remembered. My goal is to always to be a good friend. A friend who goes the extra mile to make their friends feel confident, important and encouraged. I want to be the girl that does her best to be honest, trustworthy and dependable. I want to be known as a good wife. A good hostess. Someone who was able to experience the world, but never lose site of what’s important. There are so many things I want to leave behind, so I try everyday to do what I can to be a good friend, wife, daughter and eventually I want to be the best mom I can be. What do you want to be known for?

I hope you enjoyed these reflective questions and that they encourage you to find your purpose.

Happy Tuesday, Friends!

 

 

 

 

love-yourself-link-up

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Standard

3 thoughts on “Love Yourself Link Up: Purpose

  1. Oh my gosh…I enjoyed this so much. Thank you for being honest and loving yourself enough to be honest with these answers. I honestly haven’t thought alot about those questions….well, not in detail anyway. I have no idea what my passion is…but your story is inspiring me to go journal a bit and have that open dialogue with myself. You do have a purpose and a passion…I’m excited to hear about what is going on!

  2. I love that you took the time to ask yourself these questions. And what an amazing perspective to have about you surviving into this world, and knowing that because of that there is so much purpose for you in life. I so enjoy learning things about you through your reflections, Aubrey!

Thoughts?

