Love Yourself Link Up, My Designs

Love Yourself Link Up: A New Friend

Friend Quote | A. Design | Aubrey Hubbell | Chic to Chic Blog | www.chictochicblog.wordpress.com

Today I am writing as part of the Love Yourself Linkup – an ongoing blog series that focuses on topics like self image and body image. A community of women post their thoughts on these topics and tell stories of personal experiences. We’ll share what inspired us, challenged us and more! Learn more about the Love Yourself Linkup at Anne the Adventurer. If you have a story to share too, join the conversation by writing and clicking to enter below!

A couple of months ago, I stepped out of my comfort zone and reached out to a sweet gal/blogger/amazing “Instagrammer”\DIY extraordinaire and asked if she wanted to grab coffee sometime. She replied and said she would! After finding out we had several connections through mutual friends and places we’d lived, we set a date and met. Today was the day.

I got up, got dressed all while the excited butterflies in my stomach fluttered. Meeting someone new makes me a little nervous, but then I couldn’t stop smiling because I knew this lovely lady was going to be special. I sat in my car, plugged in the directions and followed “Map’s” directions to the Bicycle Cafe. As I parked, I said a quick prayer that He’d bless this meet up and in the cafe I went. I got a tweet saying she was almost there. I stood out front, waiting and looking at every movement until I saw her. There she was! This new friend I was just dying to meet.

We hugged, feeling as if we’d already met and in we went. She ordered coffee, I ordered a chai tea. I knew the adrenaline would fill me with energy soon enough. Then it happend. We connected. We talked and talked and talked. When you’ve never met someone, you have a lot to catch up on, twenty-something years it happened to be. We talked about love, life, family, creativity, the future, our blogs, the good, the bad, everything. It was so much fun. This was just what I needed. She encouraged me, inspired me and made really great points that made me think.

This meeting today reminded me how much a new friendship can work wonders for my heart. I felt uplifted and encouraged. I was proud of myself for going out of my comfort zone and reaching out to someone I didn’t know and I’m so glad I did because I now have a genuinely sweet and thoughtful person I can now call my new friend.

Today, I want to encourage you to break out of the norm and reach out to someone you’ve admired from afar, maybe a new coworker or neighbor and make an effort to chat. You never know, a true friendship could blossom from that little coffee date and new friend is so good for the soul.

Happy Tuesday, Friends!

love-yourself-link-up

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Standard

6 thoughts on “Love Yourself Link Up: A New Friend

  1. tide & bloom says:

    This is such a sweet and encouraging story! I look up to a ton of bloggers and business women out there and this inspires me to reach out to them in more meaningful ways other than just coveting their social media. 🙂 Props to you girl!

    • I can be very shy sometimes, but when you work up the courage and get out of your comfort zone, doesn’t it feel so good! Keep working on it! It’s not easy, but so worth it!

  2. Aww yeah! Don’t you love when that happens…its just so sweet to reach out and then be rewarded with real honest and true connection. This happened to me as well….such a great feeling! Have a great start to your week!

  3. Pingback: Twenty Three, Ya’ll! | Chic to Chic

Thoughts?

