Day at a Time

Seeking Community

20131015-212038.jpg

This morning I sat at my computer, knowing why I wanted to post and more importantly that I wanted to be open and honest. Nothing came. I wrote down fragments of thoughts going through my mind, but I couldn’t pin point one special thing. Then as I searched for inspiration, I stumbled upon a quote…

“The idea is to write it so that people hear it and it slides through the brain and goes straight to the heart.” -Maya Angelou

Yes, yes! That’s what I want to do. I want to write from my heart, share my passions and expose this desire to create a community.

Anne from Anne the Adventurer posted today about the impact moving away from a community can have. It spoke to me. Moving here three years ago was one of the easiest, but hardest things I’ve ever done. Leaving a community of love and support, my family and the overall familiarity of my surroundings was a struggle I still work to overcome. I still feel disconnected at times, aching to find my place. But as I continue to settle into this city, I’ve come to meet some wonderful people. Some I now call my friends. They’ve inspired me, encouraged me and helped me develop, slowly into the person I’m striving to be. There are so many words, yet so little words, so much inside I need to share. This community I long for is scary to build, but those precious moments of belonging are what make me continue on.

Community is my desire. Will you become apart of mine?

Standard

3 thoughts on “Seeking Community

Thoughts?

