What to Wear

Let’s Talk Dress

Let's Talk Dress | Chic to Chic Blog | www.chictochicblog.wordpress.comCredit | Richard Rutledge Vogue

Let’s talk dress – inspired by a conversation with my fellow classmates yesterday afternoon. Who do you dress for? Why do you dress the way you do? Are you trying to project a certain image with your style?

Dressing, is a very important element in my life. Whether or not we like it, people judge us based on what we are wearing and how we hold ourselves. It’s important to keep that in mind when choosing what to wear to class, work, dinner or in any situation, especially where first impressions will be made. There are a few quotes I like to keep in mind while readying myself for the day – at the core of it all, Audrey says it best, “For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others. For beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you’re never alone.” Those are some powerful words and the thing that stands out the most is that there is no advice about the outward appearance, but for anything to look beautiful on the outside, there must be a flood of beauty that comes from the inside.

The second quote I’d like to share is “Being well dressed is a beautiful form of politeness.” When you dress well, you show those around you whether at work, school or a dinner, that you care about this situation and you took the time to prepare for it. Along with that, I’d like to share one last quote that as a college student and freelancer, I take seriously; “Don’t dress for the job you have, dress for the job you want.” As a student, I do my best to treat my classes as an interview, a time to learn for the job I want and to project the image that I hope future employers will see. I work hard and I dress for the future opportunity I want when meeting new and current clients. Dressing in a professional way, in most circumstances shows a future client or employer, that you will take your job seriously and handle it in a professional way. Along with your outfit, complete it with a confident air, you’ll feel ready to take on any situation.

 

Happy Thursday, Friends!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Dress

    • This was a pretty general post, but that is true. I typically look for things that are classic. Think Audrey Hepburn – pencil skirts, a-line dresses, tailored jackets, etc. Maybe I’ll do a specific post with helpful professional-looking outfits. Thanks for your compliments, Ashley. You’re so sweet!

Thoughts?

