Day at a Time

Thoughts from My Pink Oxford

Thoughts from My Pink Oxford | Chic to Chic Blog | www.chictochicblog.wordpress.com

Today, I woke up and realized I didn’t turn on the dishwasher. I was starving, but hate washing my mini blender. So, I turned on the dishwasher and awaited the arrival of my clean protein shake maker. I cleaned up a few things and sat down at my desk. I began to ponder a few things and a conversation or two I had this weekend. I grabbed a piece of paper and began writing. I rarely have time to physically write anything more than a list of my “To Dos”, but I wrote and I filled up a page. Today, I’d thought I’d share straight from my heart (not my pink oxford – it does have a nice ring to it, though). It may not make sense because it’s a little specific and general at the same time, but it speaks to my heart this morning and I hope it does to yours.

Accepting myself, who I am. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Love your body – take care of it, but treat it every now and then. Eat ginger snaps, splurge on a facial. I am who I am and I accept myself, my body, my ideas and me.

Make goals – work out 3+ times a week. Too tired? – you won’t be after or maybe that’s your queue to rest up. Work towards your long term goals – be a dedicated, a hard-working student. Show your professors you care. Be the best you can be. Make your dreams come true.

Don’t be afraid to admit your challenges or that you have questions. In my “old age”, I’m learning it’s okay to have questions, to find answers. Maybe I don’t find an answer. That could be an answer too.

When you’re little, everything grown ups say is fact. Now it’s my time to question why I have always done things a certain way. Am I trying to please others or are these my decisions and why?

When I was little I laid in bed at night and dreamed of the adult woman I would be. Am I her? A better version? Am I making my 10 year old self proud?

One thing I know for sure is that since a little girl, I’ve always had a few, basic goals of the person I wanted to be, what I wanted to be known for. I may not be that person yet, but I’ve been striving my whole life. I want to smile at strangers, be known for being positive, happy. It came pretty easy as a little girl and I keep it in my heart as an adult to continue it. I want to be a good example, a real, genuine Christian. I want to be authentic, trustworthy and a good friend, no a true and incredible friend. I want to go above and beyond to let those around me know how much they mean to me.

Friends, I have the best. Some new, some old. I get calls from all of them on my birthday. That makes me feel special. I can talk with them, really talk. They ask me questions, I give them real answers. I share, they listen. They support me, love me, encourage me – just the way I am. Nothing can replace that. I hope to be as good of a friend as they are to me.

These are my thoughts this morning. Thoughts from my heart (and my pink oxford, well kinda).

Happy Tuesday, Friends!

Standard

Thoughts?

