Design

Taking on New Design Challenges

Aubrey Hubbell Design | Chic to Chic Blog | adesigncollection.com

This year brings with it many new challenges. One I’m most ecstatic about is the design side of things.

Firstly, I’m excited to announce my freelance design business is now official. I’m officially the owner of Aubrey Hubbell Design, LLC. With this brings the excitement of new clients and opportunities to build my student portfolio. I’ve been so blessed to work with so many great businesses so far.

Aubrey Hubbell Designs | Chic to Chic Blog | chictochicblog.wordpress.com

And in building my portfolio, the second challenge is researching potential internships and jobs here in Denver. I have my eye on a few studios and firms, but in the mean time, I am having fun attending networking events for creatives and the like. I’ve truly met some incredible people and enjoyed getting to know like-minded individuals.

In building my freelance business and portfolio, I’ve really found my passion – graphic design. With my college program, we study digital design in every facet. It’s been a delight to dive into so many different fields of design, 3D animation, video editing as well as graphic design and branding. But through that exploration, I’ve discovered how much graphic design intrigues me. Being a major element in a business’ branding is a wonderful thing to be apart of.

Aubrey Hubbell Designs | Chic to Chic Blog | chictochicblog.wordpress.com

Finally, everyone knows I love a good challenge, but this one – this is a whole new ball game. It’s a little scary to take this next step. Excited as I might be, having my designs viewed by potential employers is a bit daunting. Still new to the field, I’m working on not comparing and being confident in my work. It’s a hard thing to do.

Have any of you experienced this similar time of change? – the process of going from college student to being thrown in the professional world? Working in high school and college is one thing, but the real world – I’m a little scared. Any tips for finding internships, jobs or overall opportunities to meet young professionals? It’s a new year and I’m ready to take the challenge.

I’d love to hear about your experience transitioning into the real world?

Happy Friday, Friends! Can’t wait to hear your advice!

Standard

One thought on “Taking on New Design Challenges

  1. Stacy Marie says:

    I am envious of you. You go girl! I am just getting to the first hurdle which is the one that you have to jump over and say, “I am confident and ready.” I am there with one leg up, I just need a little momentum…

    I’ve been spending my break making a couple web sites, and reading every design book I can get my hands on…I think the volunteers at our local Library know me by name now, Ha! I have just about completed the book Michael gave us to read and I just got a copy today from Amazon of a book I can’t seem to stop reading today called ‘Logo Design Love’ it is a great book.

    I am looking forward to a great design year as well. I have joined AIGA and BMA and I am looking forward to networking. Keep me in mind if you want company for networking meetings, events and workshops. I am ready to learn, stretch and grow as much as possible in the new year!

Thoughts?

